”Muistatko…Remember…” – Wade Mikkola Quintet – AMK 1001 – 1999

Finnish hit songs from three decades, arranged into instrumental jazz by Mikkola. Acclaimed by critics and musicians, this CD seems to have started the concept of the theme CD's of Finnish popular song as jazz-arrangements. The Finnish master musicians on this recording are Markku Johansson (tpt), Pekka Toivanen (sax), Lasse Hirvi (piano), Tomi Parkkonen (drums). One idea behind this concept was to ease the understanding and following the jazz improvisation for the Finnish audiences by using familiar melodies as the source.

Buy and listen the CD here: